SNAKEBLADE - Share New Single "Foul Sorcery of Flame and Shadow"

Canada’s Snakeblade has a new single out, and now, death metal fans can take it all in over at Heavy Blog Is Heavy who is premiering “Foul Sorcery of Flame and Shadow” which you can also hear below!

This is the sixth track out of the ten presented on the upcoming album “The Curse'' and according to Mike Redston is a full-fledged five-minute roller coaster. He explains more in detail:

“This track is absolute bananas. I consider this to be my most technical song off The Curse with some super fun riffs. Guitar wise it’s got flavours of everything from Archspire to Metallica. And lyrically, it’s a complete homage to Game of Thrones - fans of the show will no doubt be able to spot the reference. It starts full-on with a relentless attack of blast beats and shredding. Then about halfway through you get this complete shift to a half-time neck-snapping section. It’s closed out by a silky smooth acoustic outro to seal the deal.”

“The Curse” is the second album from Snakeblade, following “The Kingdom”, which came out in 2020. It is quite an evolution, growing in both complexity and scale with the addition of a session drummer to handle the kit. Mike Redston formed the solo project in the midst of the pandemic, as a distraction. To deepen the escape, all his lyrics surrounded fantasy concepts from his favorite video games and movies. The name Snakeblade comes from his first character in Dungeons and Dragons which was a bugbear.

For fans of death and black metal both new and old, Snakeblade is recommended for fans of Dimmu Borgir, Death and Skeletonwitch.

The album “The Curse” will be available on October 13, 2021. Album pre-order -

Previous single - “The Red Mage’s Seduction” -

Track Listing:

1. Destiny (Intro) (1:42) 
2. Rotten Souls (6:48) 
3. Harvester (3:35) 
4. Dreams of Aida (1:53) 
5. The Red Mage’s Seduction (6:01) 
6. Foul Sorcery of Flame and Shadow (5:04) 
7. Godswood (2:28) 
8. Born Among Salt and Smoke (5:46) 
9. Archways (3:05) 
10. Exile, Outlaw… The Essence (6:34)