HACKTIVIST - Release New Single "Reprogram"


UK grime-metal quintet Hacktivist have released a new single "Reprogram", taken from the upcoming new album "Hyperdialect", due for release on 18th June 2021 via UNFD. 

The news of Hyperdialect follows Hacktivist's exhilarating return in 2020 with their single 'Armoured Core', featuring rising artist Kid Bookie, which saw support from Radio 1's Future Artists with Jack Saunders, the Radio 1 Rock Show, Kerrang! Radio and more. Check out "Armoured Core" featuring Kid Bookie HERE.

Luckily, Hacktivist are back to help cut through the noise and bullshit, tooled-up and ready to attack with renewed vigour and reinforced ranks; with Jot Maxi and J. Hurley now sharing the vocal and lyrical load, drummer Rich Hawking and bassist Josh Gurner bringing the beats and rhythms, and guitarist and production don James Hewitt fleshing out the group’s genre-fluid muscle. With a brand new album in the works, scheduled for release in 2021, Hewitt played a very active role in Hacktivist's writing and recording process, bringing a new and compelling dynamic to the table.

In 2016, when Hacktivist initially set sights on their enemies with debut album "Outside The Box", the world wasn’t fully equipped to heed their warnings and pay attention to its timely rallying cries. They return into a very different one, however – a world that’s sadly now all-too-finely-attuned to the horrors they first forecasted four years ago. In the wake of a global pandemic that has sharpened collective senses and exposed the systematic flaws across society, these should be times primed and ready for the truth-bombs that Hacktivist are about to drop. But recent hardships only amplify the band’s messages – these dispatches from the edge were written way before a virus brought humanity to its knees.

If all of that sounds grim and miserable, fear not, because Hacktivist aren’t here for unhelpful told-you-so's or sensationalist scaremongering. What use would holding a mirror up to all of this ugliness be if there weren’t some lessons to learned from the reflection, or at least to offer even the faintest glimmers of hope? "It’s becoming clear that we are on the brink of some type of revolution", says Jot Maxi, with no small dose of conviction or optimism. "Hacktivist are here to bring truth and positivity – the silver lining of a society clouded in poisonous fear. Hacktivist also represents a voice that isn’t afraid of saying what needs to be said. We’re already living in the future. We have the choice to either be shaped by it or to stand up and shape it ourselves. Which path will you take?” .

It was with those battle lines clearly drawn and ambitions duly set that Hacktivist entered into the creation of "Hyperdialect". Starting almost two years ago and developing on the acerbic sonic filth introduced by 2019 singles "Reprogram" and "Dogs Of War", the five-piece felt fired up by their new working dynamic and the collective process involved, with each member actively encouraged to contribute ideas until the best outcome was reached. Unusually, for such a group of bloody-minded insurrectionists, this democratic approach worked wonders – a testament to how much they were all on the same page on these 12 tracks. Aside from guest spots from rapper Kid Bookie on the monstrous Armoured Core and Betraying The Martyrs’ Aaron Matts lending his vocal talents to the title-track, this was all Hacktivist: no filter, no frills, and no holding back.

"Hyperdialect" tracklisting: 

1. Anti-Emcees 
2. Luminosity 
3. Lifeform 
4. Armoured Core (feat. Kid Bookie) 
5. Turning Tables 
6. Currency 
7. Hyperdialect (feat. Aaron Matts) 
8. Dogs Of War 
9. Ultima Dies 
10. Planet Zero 
11. How Dare You Exist 
12. Reprogram