PYREXIA - Unleashes New Music Video For 25th Anniversary Re-Recorded Edition of "System of The Animal" Out Now!

Long Island, NY old school death metallers Pyrexia unleashed their 25th Anniversary edition of "System of The Animal" earlier this month. The revitalized album was recorded with Pyrexia's current band lineup that consists of Chris Basile (Guitar), Shaun Kennedy (Bass), Jim Beach (Vocals), and John Glassbrenner (Drums) at Chapel Sound on Long Island, NY, along with mixing and mastering done at Demigod Studios by Miguel Tereso.

Known as one of the American OG's of brutality with their vigorous death metal and smackdown hardcore, they offer a refreshed sound of how "System of The Anaimal" was meant to be. Guitarist Chris Basile explains:

"The biggest thing over the past couple of albums is the jump in production and the main thing the band suffered from in the past was production value. The songs can be felt in the chest and the riffs can finally be heard with this newly recorded version of System of the Animal. I also felt it was ahead of its time in 1997. I don't think a lot of people were ready for such a mix of Brutal Death Metal VS. Beatdown Hardcore. When people hear this material with the new production, combined with the fact that the music was written in the mid-90s. I think it puts Pyrexia in a whole new light for a lot of people. I think the songwriting is really going to stand out for listeners bored with bands that put out the same album over and over."

Hitting the road this coming August for ten dates across the US East Coast with Cerebral Incubation (Unique Leader), Atoll (Unique Leader), Reeking Aura (Parasitic Records), Pyrexia wants those who know them and the next generation of pit brawlers to brace themselves for their new unforgiving music video "Day One".

"We didn't want to do the typical serial killer or running through the woods Death Metal video. I think we took it to the next level production-wise. Think Training Day meets Grand Theft Auto. Be offended. "

Watch and listen to "Day One" below!

“System of the Animal 25” was released on June 6th, 2023, and is available via the band's label Gravitas Entertainment.

Album order (CD, Vinyl) is available at

Tour Dates - Pyrexia w/ Cerebral Incubation (Unique Leader), Atoll (Unique Leader), Reeking Aura (Parasitic Records)​

Aug 3 - Huntingtown, MD - 611 Cafe 
Aug 4 - Richmond, VA - Another Round 
Aug 5 - Charlotte, NC - The Milestone 
Aug 6 - Spartanburg, SC - Ground Zero 
Aug 7 - Jacksonville, FL - TBD 
Aug 8 - Tampa Bay, FL - Brass Mug 
Aug 9 - Orlando, FL - Conduit 
Aug 10 - Atlanta, GA - TBD 
Aug 11 - Newark, DE - Halftime Sports Pub 
Aug 12 - Clifton, NJ - Dingbatz

Track Listing:​

1. Confrontation 
2. Downsized 
3. System of the Animal 
4. Closure 
5. Purging the Nemesis 
6. Day One 
7. Unscathed 
8. G.F.Y.S. (Go Fuck Your Self)