SAMIAM - Release First New Album in 12 Years "Stowaway" Out Today via Pure Noise Records, Premiere "Lake Speed" Music Video

Samiam are back! Today the beloved Bay Area punk legends have released Stowaway, their first new album in 12 years, available now from Pure Noise Records. The record picks up right where Samiam left off with all of the energy, melody, and pathos of their classic work, proving exactly why the group are still one of the most endearing and enduring punk bands of their generation.

To celebrate the release, Samiam have teamed with BrooklynVegan to premiere their music video for the raucous album opener "Lake Speed" along with an in-depth track-by-track commentary feature that dives into the entirety of Stowaway.

From forming in the Oakland DIY punk scene in 1988, to eventually experiencing the major label alt rock feeding frenzy of the 1990s first hand, Samiam have experienced countless ups and downs in their 30+ years as a band. But their output has always remained incredibly consistent and Stowaway is no exception. Recorded piecemeal in different studios throughout the challenges of the past few years, the album reflects Samiam's knack for turning difficult circumstances into anthemic singalongs. Stowaway may reckon with time, failure, and frustration but in classic Samiam fashion, the hard luck stories are delivered via some of the band's most energetic and hooky songs to date. "If you're lucky, you get this sort of sense when you're in a band that you're participating in something that's important to other people," explains guitarist Sergie Loobkoff. "And I still get that with Samiam." Stowaway might have been over a decade in the making, but it was well worth the wait.

Get the album:

Stowaway track-list:

1. Lake Speed 
2. Crystallized 
3. Lights Out, Little Hustler 
4. Shoulda Stayed 
5. Shut Down 
6. Scout Knife 
7. Monterey Canyon 
8. Natural Disasters 
9. Stanley 
10. Highwire 
11. Something 
12. Stowaway