THE EVER LIVING - Release New Single Video "De-Emulate"

THE EVER LIVING share their unrelenting new track "De-Emulate," accompanied by a retro-futuristic video. The band will also host a listening party for their new album 'Artificial Devices' (set for release on the 15th of July 2022) via the virtual reality hangout app Bigscreen.

The app can be downloaded for free and is compatible with Oculus, Valve, Microsoft and Vive devices. 15 guests picked at random will be able to interact with band members Chris and Andrei before an advance preview of the new album a week before release. Fans can apply for the event by emailing

The band's latest offering "De-Emulate" pulses with dark industrial synths and walls of drop-tuned guitars. This dense and bleak backdrop provides the listener with the uneasy sense of an impending apocalypse.

Speaking on their new single and accompanying video Chris Bevan Lee comments:

"De-Emulate is all about how our emotions can feel inbuilt and pre-programmed which holds us back and prevents us from progressing. The video was inspired by the early 90s when music videos had a more experimental aesthetic." Beven Lee jests adding: "Certainly not like the carbon copy studio shoots you see today. I always try to make sure the style suits the theme and mood of the track and the fragmented visuals both illustrate and represent our sound. One foot firmly in the past with the other in the future”

‘Artificial Devices’ was born from burnout and existential dread, but creatively spurred on by resilience in difficult times. Collaborating with producer/engineer Jonny Renshaw (Devil Sold His Soul, Blood Youth, Casey) and mixing/mastering duties tackled by Magnus Lindberg (Cult of Luna); the album sees THE EVER LIVING evolve and grow beyond their previous works, weaponising their vulnerabilities and turning them into creative fuel.

The London duo –Chris Bevan Lee (vocalist, keyboards, programming) and Andrei Alan (guitars, bass, programming)– collaborated by writing and sharing files over the internet, to create what would become their richest work to date. "There we were on our last album, exploring and critiquing the dark side of virtual reality and just a couple of years later, we were using that same technology during a global crisis to stay connected with each other." jests Bevan Lee.

‘Artificial Devices’ dense, sprawling soundscape unfurls its layers of complexity with every listen; enveloping the listener in waves of synths, electronic pads and flanked by a barrage of pummeling guitars. Slow and deliberate, with purpose, terraforming a new world with each passing movement.

"Since releasing ‘Herephemine’, I struggled with writer’s block," exclaims guitarist Andrei Alan. "My guitars no longer presented me with ideas, and I was starting to think that perhaps I had said everything that I had to say." He adds: "In reality, I was avoiding putting myself out there again and exposing myself to the risk of any future disappointment."

"We had lost our way, focusing on followers, likes and plays rather than writing and playing. We had fallen foul of the same pitfalls of blurring the lines between the virtual world and the real world. But now, inspired again, we realised as soon as we started writing... music is what compels us.”

Bevan Lee adds in summation: "We are becoming an extension of our phones, and social media profiles. Everything has to have a story, a meaning. We are turning into vessels, Artificial Devices.”

‘Artificial Devices’ Tracklisting

1 Omniphorm 
2 De-Emulate 
3 Circadian March 
4 Ruminance 
5 Total Impasse 
6 Kronosync 
7 You’ve Come to the Right Place 
8 Take Heed, Take Flight