HAIL THE SUN - Release New LP "Mental Knife"

California-based Progressive Post-Hardcore outfit Hail The Sun released their highly-anticipated new full-length ‘Mental Knife’ today via Rude Records. Mental Knife’ is the closest the band has come to realizing the sound they’ve sought since forming in 2009. The band lived largely in the same creative space for this record as they did on its predecessors - Culture Scars (2016) and the Secret Wars EP (2017). However, all four members of the band have elevated their already impressive style of play on ‘Mental Knife’; pushing the limit of what is capable when walking the delicate line between intricate song arrangements and massive riffs and thundering rhythms. To realize their vision for the LP, the band worked with Beau Burchell, best known for his role as a member of Saosin and producing that project’s iconic Translating The Name full length, which was a major influence on the members of Hail The Sun. Vocalist/drummer Donovan Melero says of the album: “The four of us have never known each other, and our individual styles of writing, so well. This reflects in how quickly Mental Knife came together while still full encompassing everything we love to play as a unit.” Get Mental Knife here or stream on Spotify.

Since finding sobriety nine years ago, Donovan Melero, the vocalist and drummer for Hail The Sun, has found himself constantly consumed with the idea of making the most of every day. Melero - along with bandmates Aric Garcia (guitar), John Stirrat (bass) and Shane Gann (guitar) - manage both the creative and business sides of the band, as they continue to grow into one of the most revered acts in their genre. Melero has also developed into one of the most respected booking agents in rock due to his incomparable work ethic. Somehow he even manages to find time to advance his side project, the progressive rock supergroup Sianvar, which has developed a sizeable cult following of its own. On ‘Mental Knife’, Melero tackles that constant need for self improvement and his obsession with making up for lost time in a way that is both unabashedly honest and artistically innovative. The title of the record stems from the idea of cutting out those aspects of your life that don’t contribute to a more fulfilling existence. The subject matter largely centers on trying to develop a genuine confidence that allows you to acknowledge your own imperfections and provide the strength necessary to work towards correcting them.

Hail The Sun will join Polyphia on a full North American tour this October and November, in support of ‘Mental Knife’. Tickets can be purchased from hailthesun.com.

Hail The Sun ‘Mental Knife’ Tracklisting:

1. Gouge & Uproot
2. Mental Knife
3. Suffocating Syndrome
4. Devotion Cuts
5. The Stranger in Our Pictures
6. A Lesson in Lust
7. Risk/Reward
8. Feel It When Convenient
9. Arcane Justice
10. Glass: Half Empty
11. On Existence

Hail The Sun Released ‘Mental Knife’ Via Rude Records On 28/09/18.
Get It Now: hts.lnk.to/mentalknife