DEARIST - Debut "Drowning" Video

Wolverhampton, UK rockers Dearist have dropped a new video for their song "Drowning" off their upcoming sophomore full-length, 'Sonder,' out April 27 on Spartan Records.

Vocalist Adam Binder tells Upset Magazine: “This song made it onto the new album pretty early. I was listening to a lot of mid-tempo 90s alternative rock at the time and I wanted to write a song with that same semi-dreamy vibe. I had that intro riff going on a loop pedal in the studio for about two hours just vibing off it. We’ve actually being playing this song live for a few months now so anyone that’s seen us live recently may recognise it.

“As for the lyrical content, like all songs on this new album, it’s written about other people I know, and what it would be like to be in their shoes. Drowning is about a person that has been through a tough time and they are finding it hard to move on with their life. It’s about getting stuck in what’s happened in the past and not being able to shake off those experiences.

Of the video, he says: “Dearist is very DIY when it comes to the creative side of the band. Not only do we record and mix all our stuff but we are really lucky that Lee (our guitarist) is really good at all the visual aspects. He does all our design and video work. Which is great because we get a lot of freedom and time to work on stuff. Though we do go overboard sometimes when planning videos – one of the ideas we had recently for a video was me singing at the camera while getting paint filled water balloons launched at me. Thankfully we shelved that one.”

Pre-order 'Sonder' at:

All pre-orders include an instant download of the song “Drowning” as well as the band’s newly remastered debut album “This House Has No Windows.”

Track Listing: 

1. Front Matter 
2. Beaches 
3. Fool's Heart 
4. Drowning 
5. Demuto 
6. Essex 1820 
7. Part Of You 
8. Half Light 
9. Shame 
10. Pentonville 
11. Colours