THE TROOPS OF DOOM Unleash New Video Single "Dawn Of Mephisto", Of Upcoming Album “A Mass To The Grotesque”!

May 31, 2024 sees Brazilian death metal extremes, THE TROOPS OF DOOM, unleash their much-awaited, new studio album “A Mass To The Grotesque” via Alma Mater Records, the Portuguese label run by MOONSPELL singer Fernando Ribeiro! The album pre-sale is available at, to pre-save a digital copy via Blood Blast Distribution, visit:

While Mille Petrozza of KREATOR recently said "The record sounds amazing! Old school as f*ck! Taking me back to the glory days of Brazilian metal. This album will crush!", Øystein G. Brun (BORKNAGAR) states: "Wow, this one hits me hard and drags me straight back to the early 90', to my youth, when death metal still was fresh, wild and fierce! Listen and learn kids, this is how music in the name of the horns are done!"

“Imagine a death metal world unaltered and pure since the 1990’s, a musical style so dear to the fans, that time, business and trend, could never hurt,“ Death Metal Fan Fernando Ribeiro recommends, “Go back to the glorious time where Death Metal reigned supreme, thanks to some bands, artists, studios and an untameable will of progressing and delivering extreme music to its finest shape, like occult jewellery, filigree , brutal yet elegant in its overwhelming task of splitting your ears. The new Troops of Doom album A Mass to the Grotesque, which Alma Mater Records is brutally proud to present, rescues this long forgotten Death Metal class. They are the flag carriers of the authentic Morrisound sound (the legendary Florida studio where this album was mixed and mastered) and they leave no stones unturned on this one. Brace yourself for the best and most authentic Death Metal album in ages!”

But convince yourself, following the previously-released, first single and rager “Chapels Of The Unholy“, today, THE TROOPS OF DOOM serve you their brand new track "Dawn Of Mephisto"! Watch the clip now streaming below!

"We chose "Dawn Of Mephisto" as our second single because it's a song that already brings greater musical complexity, while remaining true to the rawness and ferocity of 80s metal. We believe that this track, together with our first single "Chapels Of The Unholy," provides a great summary of what fans can expect from this new album, still with many nuances and surprises, of course." The band comments.

"The lyrics of "Dawn Of Mephisto" portray the representation of evil, proclaiming the destruction of faith and the emergence of a new power, personified by the figure of Mephisto, a demonic entity derived from Mephistopheles present in the Faust myth by Goethe. Conceptually, we approach the theme as a kind of distorted vision of religion and this power, where violence and destruction are glorified as a form of rebellion against the divine. Our intention with the musical aesthetic of this track was to contextualize a story being told, like in a movie. It's a song that builds up and reaches peaks of explosion and high energy.

The music video was filmed in Porto Alegre/RS and directed by producer and filmmaker André Moraes (Sepultura, Lisbela e o Prisioneiro) and Ana Carol."

THE TROOPS OF DOOM was formed in 2020, during the pandemic, by the original SEPULTURA guitarist Jairo “Tormentor” Guedz. He recorded the albums “Bestial Devastation” (1985) and “Morbid Visions” (1986). Jairo left the band in 1987, making way for Andreas Kisser, who continues with the band to this day. THE TROOPS OF DOOM’s lineup also includes other significant figures from the Brazilian metal scene, such as guitarist Marcelo Vasco (Patria, Mysteriis), a globally renowned graphic artist known for his work with bands like Slayer, Dee Snider, Kreator, Machine Head, Soulfly, and many others. The vocalist and bassist Alex Kafer, former live guitarist for Matanza, and drummer Alexandre Oliveira, a former member of the band Tianastácia, complete the lineup.

Acclaimed by specialized media as a supergroup, THE TROOPS OF DOOM emerged to revive the classic Death Metal of the 80s, inspired by Sepultura’s early era with Jairo and other influential bands such as Slayer, Celtic Frost, Kreator, and Possessed. It serves as a time machine for those nostalgic for the golden age of Death Metal. In just two years since its formation, the band has released three EPs: “The Rise of Heresy” (2020), “The Absence of Light” (2021), and “Prelude to Blasphemy” (2023), along with their debut album, “Antichrist Reborn”, that was released in 2022 on CD, LP, and Cassette by Alma Mater Records and lauded by both fans and music press alike.

The band is currently gearing up for the release of their highly anticipated second album, “A Mass To The Grotesque”, produced by André Moraes, a multi-talented musician known for his work on Sepultura’s “Dante XXI” and the soundtrack of the film “Lisbela e o Prisioneiro,” at Audio Porto studio in Porto Alegre/RS. The mixing and mastering of the album were done by Jim Morris at the legendary Morrisound Recording in Tampa, Florida, known for producing some of the greatest Death Metal classics of the 80s and 90s. The cover art was painted by the acclaimed artist Dan Seagrave, responsible for numerous iconic Death Metal album covers.

In support of “A Mass To The Grotesque”, THE TROOPS OF DOOM who have just headlined the Waves stage at the Brazilian edition of the German festival Summer Breeze, will embark on their first-ever European Tour in August! Find all upcoming live dates listed below, and make sure to grab your copy of this must-have album, one that belongs into every well-sorted death metal record collection, now at THIS LOCATION!


01. Solve Et Coagula - Introduction 
02. Chapels Of The Unholy 
03. Dawn of Mephisto 
04. Denied Divinity 
05. The Impostor King
06. Faithless Requiem
07. Psalm 78 - God of Bizarre
08. Terror Inheritance
09. The Grotesque
10. Blood Upon The Throne
11. Venomous Creed