THE EVER LIVING - Release New Single "Omniphorm"

London-based alternative-metal entity THE EVER LIVING release their epic new single ‘Omniphorm’. The track is taken from their forthcoming sophomore album ‘Artificial Devices,’ set for release on 15th July 2022. Fans can pre-order HERE.

The band's latest offering guides the listener on an expansive journey of ambience and hypnotic melodies, accompanied by gargantuan slabs of drop-tuned riffs. Speaking on the creation of their latest beast, guitarist Andrei Alan comments:

“Omniphorm is the result of experimentation and was born out of dissatisfaction with the new music I was hearing through the lockdown. The concept was to contrast the most ambient and beautiful elements of our sound with the heaviest. The guitars are drenched in effects, more so than ever before; and the groove and weight of the riffs really showcase the new, much lower guitar tuning used for the album." Alan reflects adding: "Despite the new tuning, new effects, and new ways of playing, the track remains reassuringly THE EVER LIVING and was the obvious choice as the opener for the album, setting the tone for what follows…”

‘Artificial Devices’ was born from burnout and existential dread, but creatively spurred on by resilience in difficult times. Collaborating with producer/engineer Jonny Renshaw (Devil Sold His Soul, Blood Youth, Casey) and mixing/mastering duties tackled by Magnus Lindberg (Cult of Luna); the album sees THE EVER LIVING evolve and grow beyond their previous works, weaponising their vulnerabilities and turning them into creative fuel.

The London duo –Chris Bevan Lee (vocalist, keyboards, programming) and Andrei Alan (guitars, bass, programming)– collaborated by writing and sharing files over the internet, to create what would become their richest work to date. "There we were on our last album, exploring and critiquing the dark side of virtual reality and just a couple of years later, we were using that same technology during a global crisis to stay connected with each other." jests Bevan Lee.

‘Artificial Devices’ dense, sprawling soundscape unfurls its layers of complexity with every listen; enveloping the listener in waves of synths, electronic pads and flanked by a barrage of pummeling guitars. Slow and deliberate, with purpose, terraforming a new world with each passing movement.

"Since releasing ‘Herephemine’, I struggled with writer’s block," exclaims guitarist Andrei Alan. "My guitars no longer presented me with ideas, and I was starting to think that perhaps I had said everything that I had to say." He adds: "In reality, I was avoiding putting myself out there again and exposing myself to the risk of any future disappointment."

"We had lost our way, focusing on followers, likes and plays rather than writing and playing. We had fallen foul of the same pitfalls of blurring the lines between the virtual world and the real world. But now, inspired again, we realised as soon as we started writing... music is what compels us.”

Bevan Lee adds in summation: "We are becoming an extension of our phones, and social media profiles. Everything has to have a story, a meaning. We are turning into vessels, Artificial Devices.”

‘Artificial Devices’ Tracklisting

1 Omniphorm 
2 De-Emulate 
3 Circadian March 
4 Ruminance 
5 Total Impasse 
6 Kronosync 
7 You’ve Come to the Right Place 
8 Take Heed, Take Flight