ISLANDER - Team With Friends From Korn, P.O.D., Underoath And More, For New Studio Album "It’s Not Easy Being Human"

Critically–acclaimed rock band Islander released a new album today called “It’s Not Easy Being Human” via Better Noise Music. The heavy rock act also dropped a new lyric video for their track “Skin Crawl (featuring Brian “Head” Welch of Korn, Dan Weyandt of Zao, Bruce Fithugh of Living Sacrifice)” today. Currently touring with Attila, He Is Legend and Crown Megatar across North America, the band is excited to share their latest body of work, and third album, as they reconnect with fans on stage this spring. Earning over 16 MILLION streams worldwide, this next album leans into their unique ability to offer meditative art amidst the chaos in the world, striking a vulnerable tone as they call for empathy amongst their ever–growing global fanbase and invite their musical peers to join them in sending out this message.

Lead singer Mikey Carvajal shared his thoughts on the band’s new album: “​​It’s not easy being human. It’s something everyone can relate to. We know that this life isn’t easy, and as frequently as we’ve all heard the saying, “people are dealing with their own struggles that we may never know about,” we want to actually apply that knowledge into choosing to be good to one another. It’s as simple as the title says…“It’s Not Easy Being Human”, so we hope it encourages everyone to show each other a little grace in this crazy life. We included a ton of our friends on the record from Korn, Underoath, Zao, P.O.D., I Prevail, Bad Brains, Living Sacrifice, Lacey Sturm, Fire From The Gods, and Hyro The Hero. I’ve always been interested in seeing my favorite artists work together and we wanted to do that on this record, by leaning on one another, supporting one another, and just having a musical party. We even had the wrestling icon Sting star in a video for one of the tracks. A lot of rap albums have guests all over them, so we were like “why not just do that with our friends?”.

Partnering with “To Write Love on Her Arms”, Islander previously released “What Do You Gotta Lose?” last spring, dropping a stunning visual for the track produced by 12 Inch Media with artwork by John Wellman that pointed viewers to resources for anyone dealing with anxiety, depression or suicidal thoughts. The song mixed deeply personal songwriting with their loud, infectious sound to create an anthem about moving forward in the face of mental health challenges. The band also released “The Outsider” last year, a tribute to why the band originally gravitated towards rock music and an embrace of anyone feeling like an outcast within the community of listeners the group has formed.

Get the single:

It’s Not Easy Being Human Tracklisting:

1. We Scream (feat. Spencer Chamberlain of Underoath) (2:41) 
2. Evil (2:49) 
3. It’s Not Easy Being Human (feat. Lacey Sturm) (2:54) 
4. Lookin’ For Love (3:14) 
5. Lights, Camera, Action (feat. Sonny Sandoval of P.O.D.) (2:58) 
6. Skin Crawl (feat. Brian “Head” Welch of Korn, Dan Weyandt of Zao, Bruce Fitzhugh of Living Sacrifice) (4:11) 
7. Black Scorpion (2:57) 
8. Skateboard Flowers (feat. HR of Bad Brains) (2:39) 
9. What Do You Gotta Lose? (3:42) 
10. Mayday (3:43) 
11. Crazy Crazy World (3:32) 
12. Y’all (feat. Hyro The Hero) (2:30) 
13. My Friends (feat. Eric Vanlerberghe of I Prevail) (2:31) 
14. Tear It Down (2:47) 
15. Freedom (feat. AJ Channer of Fire From The Gods) (3:22) 
16. No Sleep (3:15) 
17. The Outsider (2:53)