INSOLVENCY - Release New Video "Torn Away Inside"

Today, French metal outfit Insolvency release their crushing new track ‘Torn Away Inside’, taken from their sophomore album ‘Illusional Gates’. The album is set for release on 18th February 2022, with limited edition bundles being made available HERE.

Torn Away Inside’ sees Insolvency digging deep, tackling their personal mental health and the ever growing turbulence of the creative industry. Vocalist Valentin Gondouin comments:

"We’ve been living with so many uncertainties as dreamers and musicians. With this track, we address the reality of the music industry and our everyday life challenges. Our mental charge and emotion can go up and down tremendously due to these uncertainties, and the latest news. It can drive you insane sometimes.

During the first strict lockdown in France, we thought there wouldn’t be any future for bands like us. This song expresses these doubts, but with the strength and perseverance to keep going and following our dreams."

The Album ‘Illusional Gates’ is the byproduct of the band’s collective struggles with depression, rage, mental health and daily anxieties throughout the past few years. The album builds on foreboding themes of oppression and living out of time, in a dream-like reality spinning out of control.

“The lyrics and the musical atmosphere express a range of feelings,” expresses bassist Pierre Challouet. “Between depression cycles, separation, burn out, as well as being tired of fighting for a living. We feel like we have lived in a mirage for many years, and we finally found a way to put it into words.” He adds: “We all felt restricted by the fake vision we had of the world. We wrongly lived in dreams and mental prisons for too many years, and it was time to open our eyes… even if opening our eyes was hurtful.”

Collaborating with Jim Pinder (Bullet For My Valentine, Fightstar, Machine Head and While She Sleeps) Insolvency put all of these themes and experiences into their songwriting as therapy. The resulting catharsis paints a vivid picture, blurring the lines of reality while being soundtracked by astonishingly brutal riffs. Packed guttural screams and soaring melody the album also includes special guest vocals from Ryan Kirby (Fit For a King) and CJ McMahon (Thy Art Is Murder) respectively.

‘Illusional Gates’ sees the band take a leap forward, pushing themselves and evolving from their previous works."Compared to the first album, our style and writing evolved to be a lot more efficient,” says guitarist Bruno Blackstard. “in terms of riffs and melodies, as well as the progressive and slightly modernised production and ambience. Each song has its own universe and influences... from ambient to death-core, and even some post-hardcore vibes.”

Reflecting on the project and what the band has achieved, Gondouin remarks: “This album illustrates all the doors we have tried to go through in our lives that lead to deception and disappointment… But we’re here, and happy to be back after these past 2 years, showing all we’ve got, and pursuing our dreams.”

‘Illusional Gates’ is out on February 18th, 2022.


1. Blindness 
2. Torn Away Inside 
 3. The Endless Maze (Featuring Ryan Kirby) 
4. Mirage 
5. Illusional gates 
6. Last Call 
7. Another Fate 
8. Stranger World 
9. Smother The Candle (Featuring CJ McMahon) 
10. Oversight 
11. Afterlight 
12. Fade and Flow