NOVA SPEI - Streaming Their Djenty, Groovy New Album “Sequentis”

Nova Spei comes from Montreal, Quebec, Canada, they are releasing their second album “Sequentis”, following up their self-titled from 2017. The 12 track record comes in at just over 45 minutes of music spanning a wide range of metal influences.

Nova Spei tends to write about relatable experiences that everyone faces. They explain the meaning behind some of the songs:

“Génération Perdue is about having less and less human relationships, we are hidden behind our screens, becoming more and more individualistic. Digitalisé describes the human being as becoming a perishable product. We take what we need and throw it away as soon as it is consumed, the human being becomes cold and digitized. Nouvel Espoir is about when we unite, we are stronger than anything. By coming together, looking out for one another, we can build a better world.”

According to the band, this album is more metal than the last, complete with heavy riffs, a mix of clean and guttural vocals, and catchy hooks that are easy to get into. To make their music founder and rhythm guitarist Dany Soucy mainly composes the music and brings it to the band. Everyone proposes their modifications and composes their own parts. Once the music is done, vocalist Dany Duplessis starts writing the lyrics inspired by the music. Then Soucy and Nicolas Dumais (bass) help finish them. For this album, drums were performed and recorded in France by Julien De Carufel.

The accessible Francophone metal is recommended for fans of Deftones, Tesseract, and Killswitch Engage.

“Sequentis” is now out as of November 12, 2021 via Quebec label Bam&Co-Heavy. The album was written and produced by Nova Spei plus mixed and mastered by Anthony Chognard along with the album artwork done by Filip Ivanovic.

Album stream and download (see below), Spotify, Apple Music.

Music Video - “Qui Sème Le Vent” - 
Music Video - “Assez” -

Track Listing:

1. Animal (3:36) 
2. Génération Perdue (3:55) 
3. Assez (3:25) 
4. La Proie (5:07) 
5. Sorcière (3:40) 
6. Digitalisé (3:50) 
7. Nouvel Espoir (4:07) 
8. Damné (3:32) 
9. Qui Sème Le Vent (3:40) 
10. Tête Dure (3:26) 
11. Mal Incarné (4:26) 
12. Démocratie Bafouée (3:39)