THE ABSENCE - Release Drum Playthrough Video for “This Consuming Nocturne”

Florida-based melodic death metal masters THE ABSENCE have unveiled a Drum Playthrough video for “This Consuming Nocturne”, the fourth preview track from the group’s new album “Coffinized,” which was released a week ago, via M-Theory Audio.

The video is now Live via the bands YouTube and can be viewed below!

Enjoy The Absence's Jeramie Kling, as he displays his unmatched style of drumming in this playthrough of This Consuming Nocturne, off of the bands latest release, COFFINIZED! When asked for his thoughts on this song, Jeramie replied: "This song really strikes a chord with me! It resonates deeply. The lyrical content alone makes this tune a blast to play! I love all the little change ups that happen along the way, Taylor’s riffs are the perfect battleground to drive a fast tank through. Enjoy as much as I did! Also, enjoy the bit of Florida wildlife at the beginning, we live here, it’s more than moving pictures.” Vocalist, Jamie Stewart adds: "Jeramie’s drumming on This Consuming Nocturne is just flat out fantastic. It’s a huge component of why I adore the song as much as I do! So being able to watch the Machine in action, it never gets old, EVER!!!"

Hailed by Decibel for “leaving the majority of melodic death metal’s recent history chewing dust,” “Coffinized” – which can be ordered on CD and limited-edition colored vinyl at – is THE ABSENCE's follow-up to their acclaimed 2018 comeback record, “A Gift For The Obsessed.” That album was the band's first in eight years, as well as their first for new label home M-Theory Audio. The time period between that album's release and the COVID outbreak saw the band stay busy by taking their new songs to the road, touring alongside acts such as Deicide, Origin, Jungle Rot, Exmortus and Hatchet. The group’s members also stayed busy with outside endeavors, with drummer Jeramie Kling manning the kit for Venom Inc, Goregang and Inhuman Condition; bassist Mike Leon, a member with Soulfly and Cavalera Conspiracy and guitarist Taylor Nordberg playing with GoreganG, Inhuman Condition, and Massacre.

Those three band members took the experiences from their touring gigs and reconvened in the studio with Stewart – who has also been busy with his other project, Hot Graves – to put together the 11 tracks of pummeling death metal that compose “Coffinized.” The album was produced and engineered by Kling and Nordberg, mixed by Kling and mastered by Jonas Kjellgren (Immortal, Overkill, Scar Symmetry) at Sweden’s Black Lounge Studios. Its track listing is as follows:

1. Coffinized 
2. Future Terminal 
3. Choirs of Sickness 
4. Radiant DevastaXon 
5. Cathedral Dawn 
6. Black Providence 
7. Discordia 
8. Treacherous 
9. This Consuming Nocturne 
10. Aperture Expands 
11. Faith in Uncreation