MAITREYA - Release New Music Video "Bloom"

Canadian Progressive Metalcore outfit Maitreya will be unveiling their new album “Hyper Reels” on June 25th. The sophomore full length boasts a higher degree of musical complexity, filthy breakdowns and a wider range on the vocals ebbing from melodic cleans into sustained growls set to a whirlwind of complicated riffs. The record is a heavily layered listening experience, a cacophony of styles, merging together to create an intense wall of sound that forces you to pay attention to all the subliminal notes and tempo changes.

Since January of this year, the band has been revealing videos and singles in lead-up of the album's release.

Today, the band presents their final single “Bloom” and its music video before “Hyper Reels” officially makes its full audio entrance into the progressive metal moshpit.

Similar to previously revealed singles that were inspired by well-known TV shows and movies, “Bloom” came to life after the band viewed the experimental adult animated film “Waking Life”.

"Bloom takes inspiration from the concept of lucid dreaming and the cryptic messages from the subconscious mind experienced in the dream state. Dreams are something we all share, whether it's a pleasant walk through a garden with a long-lost friend, a surreal inversion of mundane life, or a horrific run-in with an unknowable evil, we all have them at some time. As universal as dreams themselves is the wish to control these experiences. Bloom explores this idea, through the eyes of a dreamer who finds themselves tormented until they gain control." adds the band.

The music video visually emulates the inspiration taken from “Waking Life” and can be experienced below.

Spotify here.

“Hyper Reels” is out on June 25, 2021 and is recommended for fans of The Contortionist, Between the Buried and Me, and Protest the Hero.

Album pre-save here.

Track Listing: 

1. Catalyst (7:23) 
2. Departed (6:04) 
3. Radical (5:31) 
4. Summit (4:31) 
5. Invaders (6:18) 
6. Bloom (4:26) 
7. Pilgrim (4:44) 
8. Flesh Engine (4:31) 
9. Hyper Reels (0:57) 
10. Iswara (4:27)