TOOTH AND CLAW - (Earth Crisis, Sect, Magnitude) Stream Debut LP "Dream of Ascension"

Metallic hardcore group Tooth and Claw released their debut full-length Dream of Ascension today via Good Fight Music. The relatively new group of veteran musicians formed just last year to delve into new avenues of aggression, while mixing hardcore and death metal. Their debut effort achieves that mission in spades, exploring the duality of human existence through a harsh sonic onslaught that is full of surprises. While the band stays on the attack throughout the nine tracks that make up Dream of Ascension, they set themselves apart with a haunting atmosphere, adding an unexpected but welcome layer to the dynamics found on the album.

Speaking on their debut, vocalist Daniel Austin says:

“While we clearly set out to be a “heavy” band, we had ambition to make this a band that would at least flirt with brief ethereal soundscapes, not just bludgeon you with chunky riffs the entire time. Hence the synth parts, hence the chanting and singing parts, hence the flourishes of melody all throughout the record. Tooth and Claw was not meant to be one thing–not musically, and not lyrically either.”

Formed during the COVID-19 shelter-in-place orders of Spring 2020, Tooth and Claw features Scott Crouse (Earth Crisis, Sect), Daniel Austin (Die Young), James Chang (Undying, Catharsis, Sect), and Cameron Joplin (Magnitude) exploring new realms of aggression. On their debut album, Dream of Ascension, Tooth and Claw skirt the typical tropes found in hardcore by mixing their bludgeoning attacks with sinister melodies, achieving a balance of innovation and pure aggression. Dream of Ascension is due out May 21st through Good Fight Music.


1. Dream of Ascension 
2. Your Crucifixion 
3. Time's Desire 
4. Seventy Times Seven 
5. Kiss of Night 
6. Arrival 
7. Torn in Half 
8. Spiritual Lust 
9. Ravage