VOLA - Release New Song and Stunning Animated Video

VOLA presents the third track in front of the band’s new studio album 'Witness' planned for global release on May 21. The song titled '24 Light-Years' and accompanying video can be heard and seen below!

The animated video was created by Nicolai Mogensen and Anne Nørkjær Bang. Mogensen shares, “We are very excited to share the music video for '24 Light-Years'. This song is one of my favorites from the forthcoming album, and it has been such a joy working on the track from a visual perspective. Anne and I have been making videos together for a while. We like to try out new techniques and explore different styles of drawing and animation. For this one, we went for a more digital, spacy, and fluent look and vibe. Anne has made the drawings for the video while I worked with the animation. We still consider ourselves novices in this field, but we put a lot of time and love into this little piece of work. We really hope that you enjoy it!”

The genre-welding Danish-Swedish quartet VOLA previously presented “Straight Lines” which can be viewed HERE. That recording is approaching 400,000 streams on Spotify, while the video has been viewed 200,000 times on YouTube. Singer-guitarist Asger Mygind shares, “Imagine someone being on the run from the authorities. It is becoming increasingly hard for this person to hide, which ‘running low on straight lines’ can be seen as a metaphor. He/she can’t just choose the direct route but has to be creative to escape. Once again, we worked with the Finnish director duo Riivata Visuals, to bring our music to life visually and invite you on an adventure.”

The release of “Head Mounted Sideways” is approaching 900,000 streams, with over 160,000 YouTube views. The lead track continues to build an expansive global footprint, and can be previewed here. Cumulative streams for VOLA repertoire is approaching 17 million plays.

The Scandinavian sensations are among the most exciting talent to emerge from Europe in recent years, their complex narratives blend with crushing riffs and a sonic sophistication. Heavy/quiet and dark/light combine with elements of tech-metal, progressive alt-rock, electronica, and stadium-sized choruses. Like the boldest acts – Tool, Mars Volta, Radiohead, Ghost, Muse, Faith No More – their sound transcends traditional rock and metal boundaries and dares to be brave.

They have blazed a trail across Europe selling out venues along the way with rooms bursting to capacity, their sound barely contained, with standout festival performances also bringing them wider attention. This has led to them picking up supporters from BBC Radio 1, Kerrang! Radio and Rock Sound magazine. Metal Hammer bowed down to their “weighty riffs, gloomy, ambient soundscapes and guttural grooves,” and the UK’s biggest newspaper The Sun were in awe of their “genre-mashing” ability.

The band produced the album and was mixed and mastered by the Grammy-nominated Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, The Black Dahlia Murder). Fans include Alter Bridge’s Myles Kennedy alongside Trivium’s Matt Heafy and Paulo Gregoletto. VOLA are Asger Mygind (vocals/guitar), Martin Werner (keys), Nicolai Mogensen (bass) and Adam Janzi (drums). Formed in Copenhagen, Denmark, they were inspired by bands such as Meshuggah, Opeth and Massive Attack, but create something uniquely theirs. They explore narratives which have examined the idea of being trapped in mental mazes on debut Inmazes (2016), the evolution of human relationships on Applause of a Distant Crowd (2018) and now, Witness is about failed relationships, on a societal scale—the friction between leaders and followers.

Always evocative, VOLA hold the listener close, observing the journey unfold and pulling you deeper within the rabbit hole.


1. Straight Lines 
2. 24 Light-Years 
3. These Black Claws (feat. SHAHMEN) 
4. Freak 
5. Napalm 
6. Future Bird 
7. Stone Leader Falling Down 
8. Inside Your Fur 
9. Head Mounted Sideways