SADISTIC EMBODIMENT - Don't Be A "Stranger" To Drummer Bryan Newbury's Behind The Kit Video

Canada’s Sadistic Embodiment unleashed their new album “Blood Spell” this past September via CDN Records. The full length follows the band’s three EPs Beloved Imprisonment (2019), Blodörn (2018), and Self-Titled (2018).

Featuring a behemoth of nine assaulting tracks, drummer Bryan “Newbs” Newbury is sharing with fans cam footage of his terminator approach to the kit for the band's track "Stranger", which can be viewed via Newbury's Youtube channel, see below!

Bryan “Newbs” Newbury has been shredding the drum kit in Western Canada since 2002 working his way up the ranks to become one of the country’s most beloved, fun, positive, and beastly, bearded metal drummers. Newbury wears his obvious influences on his sleeve, literally! Heavy names like Gene Hoglan, Neil Peart, and Vinnie Paul shape his style and love of groovy hard-hitting metal.

Among his current band Sadistic Embodiment, Newbury also drums for international touring artists Into Eternity and Untimely Demise. He also is endorsed by Pearl Drums, Sabian Cymbals, Vater Drumsticks, Remo Drum Heads, Sweet Spot Clutches, High Life Super Foods, Allmax Nutrition, Fresh Cap Mushrooms, and The Gilded Beard.

Sadistic Embodiment continues their sonic onslaught, each of the nine songs on “Blood Spell” has a distinct feel given the variation in vocal and instrumental styles throughout the album. Each track stands out and yet they are all uniquely Sadistic Embodiment. This will please old school death metallers and the new school with a variety of punch-in-your-face hooks, melodic passages, and absolutely brutal anthemic choruses.

The band comments on the album: 

“After spitting out three EPs this last couple of years, we were really stoked and kind of nervous settling into a longer writing and recording process for Blood Spell. As per usual, we cranked out the material during bi-monthly jams, but this time we really took our time crafting the music once the main structure of the songs was built. Our sound is still exactly the same, but the listeners may hear more broad musical influences across the nine tracks. There are tracks that sound distinctively Wally and Jason and certain tracks where you really hear Bryan shine as he shows off his technical prowess.

A lot of our songs are longer than your average death metal track, and they are relatively simple in regards to guitar and lyrical work. But with longer playtime, we were able to fit in more ambiance and guitars solos into every nook and cranny.”

“Blood Spell” is available on CD from CDN Records here and digitally on Bandcamp, Spotify, and Apple Music.


1. Stranger (4:41) 
2. Gallows Hill (5:33) 
3. Catherine’s Braid (6:03) 
4. Phantom Tormentor (4:41) 
5. Nebulae (Call of the Void) (2:48) 
6. Suicide Ceremony (3:09) 
7. Global Enema (4:06) 
8. Flesh Deposition (5:37) 
9. Cerebral Termination (5:26)