CULT BURIAL - Release "Dethroner" Video

London's CULT BURIAL have teamed up with Moshpit Nation to release their video for Dethroner. The song is from their upcoming self-titled album which will be released on November 6th.

Pre-order the album:

Rarely does an extreme metal band drop out of nowhere with a fully formed sound, and yet Cult Burial do just that. While their name may imply another group hopping on the dime-a-dozen OSDM revival trend, this London group quickly show that there is a lot more than meets the eye on their self-titled début, coming hot off the back of a well-received two-track EP.

The smooth sepulchral blend flits across the spectrum; while ostensibly a modern black/death metal outfit, Cult Burial have no qualms about incorporating the crushing low-end of doom metal and post-metal. Other individual tracks branch out even further from the formula - lead single “Moribund” draws from old school death metal’s HM2-drenched tremolo, while “Plague” and “Chaos” stretch into progressive territory and showcase a real strength in dynamic songwriting - not a moment is wasted.

Aside from the songwriting, the execution of each track is magnificent. Simon Langofrd's composition pairs effortlessly with César Moreira's varied vocal delivery - potent growls and twisted snarls collide with the daring range of styles employed, from the hefty groove in opener “Dethroner” reminiscent of Belphegor to the full black/death/doom amalgamation that rounds out “Sorrow”. The lyrics, which eschew the expected Satan-worshipping traits, instead turn inward and speak on topics related to death and a sense of purpose (or a lack thereof) in captivating detail.

Despite having only two tracks to their name prior to this release, Cult Burial have already begun to build a name for themselves - No Clean Singing pegged “Sorrow” as “further proof that Cult Burial is a band to watch closely”, and it won’t be long before this album starts turning heads and causing a stir.


2. Moribund 
3. Chaos 
4. Abyss 
5. Plague 
6. Kill 
7. End 
8. Forever 
9. Sorrow