SEASONAL - Unveil ‘Twelve’ Video, Single From Sophomore EP ‘Weathered’

Surrey Quartet Seasonal recently released via Undead Collective, their second collection of material. EP ‘Weathered’ is available to purchase here and to stream, including on YouTube and Spotify. Taken from the emotive-rock record is today’s new video. Tackling the taboo, ‘Twelve’ is viewable here, with frontman/bassist Matt Truseler explaining: “It was a difficult track to write lyrically because of the subject matter and for that very reason, one I wanted to write for a long time. Although it is easily accessible in this country, abortion still carries a massive stigma and is largely a taboo subject. This makes it hard for people to talk about. I wanted to express the point that it is never an easy decision to have to make and having to do so has a massive effect on the people involved. As a visual accompaniment, we struggled to find ideas that didn't involve over literal dramatization of the story and worried that if not done right it would lose the impact of the track. We eventually decided to let the song and lyrics speak for themselves and make fairly simple and primarily lyric-based video, with footage depicting the isolation and contemplation portrayed in the song.”

With a line-up rounded off by guitarists Max O'Neill and Alex Coombes and drummer Alex Tickner, Seasonal began life as a trio in 2016, later recruiting Alex on the strength of demos. Initial material was promising but something was not sitting quite right. As they continued to experiment, a change of tuning signified their light bulb moment and from this process their moniker was plucked: “The name of the band really just came from the change in the attitude and way we approached the project, like a change in the seasons,” summaries Truseler. Debut EP ‘Bloom’ saw release in 2017, followed by sold-out hometown shows, notable support slots and coverage from the likes of Kerrang!, Punktastic and BBC Introducing. In support of ‘Weathered’, the band recently released video singles: the emotionally charged ‘Strangershere and performance focussed ‘Honestlyhere.

Opting to return to Hidden Track Studios to again work with producer Oz Craggs, this time around they had the benefit of playing some of their new material live before committing it to the recording desk. Not straying from the emotive and heartfelt pop-rock sound displayed on ‘Bloom’, ‘Weathered’ sees them channeling summery vibes and up-tempo grooves in the ilk of Jimmy Eat World, Fireworks and Moose Blood. Truseler explains of it as a whole: “The general theme, presented through different scenarios, is wonder, and not knowing how choices you have made have changed your path. What if you did something different?”

‘Weathered’ Track Listing:

1. Strangers
2. Honestly
3. Drift
4. High & Dry
5. Twelve

Seasonal Released Sophomore EP ‘Weathered’ via Undead Collective Records on 12th October 2018. Get It At: