Chicago's DIRGE WITHIN has set "There Will Be Blood" as the title of its sophomore full-length album, due on April 10 via Rocket Science Ventures/THC: Music. The CD was recorded at Mercenary Studios in Zion, Illinois with engineer Scott Creekmore and producer Ari Mihalopoulos and is currently being mixed at Inner Light Studios with Ari and DIRGE WITHIN guitarist Shaun Glass.

Guitarist Matt Szlachta recently left DIRGE WITHIN to continue to focus on his passion for teaching guitar to his students and for other personal reasons. He has since been replaced by Chuck Wepfer.

"There's no bad blood at all, man," said vocalist Jeremy "Jerms" Genske. "We're all still good buds and very close. His head and heart just weren't in it anymore, and he wanted to go back to teaching. He really loves it, and that's where he felt he had to be."

DIRGE WITHIN's forthcoming album will be the band's first to feature drummer Frankie Harchut and bassist Jeff Paulick (bassist/vocalist of LAZARUS A.D.), who has been filling on bass duties on tour with DIRGE WITHIN.

"I am very excited about the new songs we've written for this new album, and that people will be able to check out my style of playing a little more," stated Harchut. "We worked our asses off writing these new songs, a lot of long nights, and I'm personally stoked to have our fans hear 'em. I really think they're gonna be into it." Jeremy added, "The songs are heavier, smarter, and more melodic in parts. Some are even a little slower! There were no rules when we were writing at all. No holds barred. Whatever came out, came out. And I think it's gonna make a really good, well-rounded metal album."

DIRGE WITHIN's "Absolution" EP was made available on August 16, 2011. The three-song effort gives fans a taste of what's to come from the band's forthcoming sophomore album.

DIRGE WITHIN's debut album, "Force Fed Lies", came out on September 1, 2009 via E1 Music.